Corpse Flower from a Safe Distance

Today My Love complained to me about the smell in the basement. Finally, my Amorphopallus rivieri is blooming! Though it has a flower more appropriate to Halloween than Easter, it’s been in my basement without soil all winter. My Love complained as I brought the corpse flower up the stairs and through the house to put it outside. Not everyone appreciates the smell of rotting meat, not even me, but it doesn’t keep me from growing this fascinating flower with its oxblood spathe and spadix and mottled stem.

My concern right now is the frost we are expecting for the next couple of nights. I think I will have to sneak my plant back in this evening and out again in the morning when My Love isn’t looking. He puts up with a lot, seed flats on top of the refrigerator, Ziploc bags of dirt inside it, but this? It will all be worth it this summer. Its leaf looks like something from the time of the dinosaurs and dwarfs the related jack-in-the-pulpits in the shade of the spruce trees. For now I thought I’d share a couple pictures of its flower so you can appreciate its weird beauty from a safe distance.

18 Responses to “Corpse Flower from a Safe Distance”

  1. Two of my favorite things, plants, and stories to go along with them.

  2. pretty cool! does your Love feel any competition from the Amorphophallus? 😉

  3. Haha you are die-hard to grow this thing! Smack dab in the middle of our living room is my big table with all my seedlings. I put up with all my man’s tools lying in every corner, too.

  4. attemptinggreen Says:

    Does that bloom every year? Where we used to live one of the colleges had a huge corpse flower but it only bloomed every 4 years or so.

  5. It must take some tolerance to live with a corpse flower… I’m not sure I’d be keen on growing one myself, actually, but they are fascinating.

  6. Beautifully exotic bloom — I’m glad I can view it from the scentless safety of my computer. 🙂

  7. What a fascinating plant. It’s beautiful. If I lived alone I’d give it a whirl, but hubby has too sensitive a nose. 🙂

    • My Love has a love/hate relationship with it. He loves to complain about it, but he’d hate to lose it, so he’s the one that digs it up in the fall and puts it in the basement to begin with!

  8. lovely pics.
    thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

