Catalogs

Catalogs have been piling up since the holidays, marked up with highlighter in the hopes of getting at least a few ordered before spring. Sadly I don’t have hoards of cash and eager servants to do my bidding, so my new acquisitions are modest to say the least. In fact, I hit a big box store for most of my vegetable seed this year from their Burpee rack. Nothing exotic, unless you count daikon radishes, ‘Baby Choi,”Pinton Long’ eggplant, or ‘Genovese’ basil. There’s ‘Green Ice’ lettuce and ‘Burpee’s Rhubarb Chard,’ for greens and ‘Kentucky Wonder’ pole beans, ‘Scarlet Nantes’ carrots, and zucchini, for my other veggies, and flat leafed parsley to add a little extra zing. Where are the tomatoes and sweet corn, you may ask, and I may answer: Most of my tomato seed is saved from last year, and I am surrounded by corn fields that my farmer neighbor allows us to put a tiny dent in come August.

One tomato variety I did get was part of my order to Thompson & Morgan, ‘Legend.’ Supposedly, it is resistant to blight. Early Blight was my bane last year, defoliating the bottoms of the plants as they grew over the concrete reinforcing wire cages meant to contain their exuberance. ‘Gold Medal’ hardly offered a fruit, but ‘Celebrity,’ ‘Jetstar,’ and ‘Early Girl’ made up for it’s stinginess. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to wipe up all this drool from fantasizing about summer tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

